29.04.2020

Domain life

Laurent Goussard : Vineyard manager for the House of Joseph Mellot

It is impossible to walk in the vineyards without crossing paths with him, whether in Sancerre or on the side of Pouilly-Fumé, Quincy or Reuilly… Laurent Goussard has been caring for the vineyard for more than 20 years.

Coming from an agricultural family in the region, he started to work as soon as he obtained his agriculture degree.  Upon his return from his military service, he joined an agricultural and wine cooperative in Menetou-Salon, where he discovered the professions of being a wine merchant and enologist, then sometime later, a vigneron in Quincy.

There he met Alexandre Mellot, who had just taken over the Pierre Duret estate; it was 1996, and Alexandre entrusted him with the management of this 5-hectare vineyard. The two men get along  very  well, and a climate of trust develops between them. Alexandre Mellot transmits his richness in know-how inherited from his forefathers, and Laurent is perfectly autodidact. Until 2000, Laurent tended to the vineyards and winery of the Pierre Duret estate, thus beginning his long collaboration within the Joseph Mellot House, which expanded with the acquisition of the Jean-Michel Sorbe estate in AOC Quincy and Reuilly.

In the early 2000s, Alexandre suggests for Laurent to join him in Sancerre. Very quickly, Laurent found himself as the vineyard manager for all the vineyards of the Joseph Mellot House. With the premature passing of Alexandre in 2005, it was natural for Laurent to stay alongside Alexandre’s wife, Catherine Corbeau-Mellot, who succeeded him.

“The vine is like a child”  

To talk about the vine with Laurent is to see an immediate smile on his face; he loves his job, as much as sharing his know-how and passion. Explaining what motivates his choices and actions to his teams day after day is something that Laurence takes to heart.

For him, the vine is like a child: we watch her grow, we accompany her, we guide her, we take care of her, we heal her when she is sick and we rejoice in seeing her evolve in the right direction.

Laurent is not about excesses. For him, all the art of viticulture lies in careful observation, the interpretation of this daily observation, and the intervention when it is necessary, in good proportion.

Laurent never tires of accompanying the vegetative cycle of the vines and is driven day after day to achieve his goal: to bring in with each harvest beautiful grapes that will give good wines! For more than 20 years he has been dedicated to the House of Joseph Mellot, striving for maintaining biodiversity and managing all vineyards under a reasoned agriculture, certified by Haute Valeur Environnementale in 2019.

5 questions to Laurent Goussard:

Your favourite season in Centre-Loire?

I love them all, but when I think about it, it is autumn. This season reveals incredible colors, which evolve over the days and even over the hours.

Your favourite place in Centre-Loire?

I like to walk around the peak of Sancerre. Each slope offers unique panoramas, all beautiful, with vineyards, the Loire, its relief and the horizon… I also appreciate the vineyard of Pouilly-Fumé and its superb views over the river. 

Your favourite cuvée?

The Quincy Clos de la Victoire!

Your favourite wine pairing?

A Quincy with a goat cheese, my favorite “vigneron sandwich”, my guilty pleasure.

Your daily eco-responsible gesture?

Respect for nature: observation, interpretation, and fair intervention.

 

Carriage free for orders
of 12 bottles or more

Volume discounts
starting from 24 bottles

Secure payment
by credit card

Visitez notre boutique en ligne
29.04.2020

La vie au domaine

Laurent Goussard : Chef de culture de la Maison Joseph Mellot

Impossible de se promener dans les vignes sans le croiser, que ce soit à Sancerre ou du côté de Pouilly-Fumé, Quincy ou Reuilly… Laurent Goussard veille sur le vignoble depuis plus de 20 ans.

Issu d’une famille d’agriculteurs de la région, il travaille dès l’obtention de son bac agricole.  Au retour de son service militaire, il intègre une coopérative agricole et viticole à Menetou-Salon, c’est là qu’il découvrira le métier de caviste-œnologue, puis quelques temps plus tard, le métier de vigneron à Quincy.

Il y rencontre Alexandre Mellot, qui vient de reprendre le domaine Pierre Duret ; nous sommes en 1996, et Alexandre lui confie la conduite de ce vignoble de 5 hectares. Les deux hommes s’entendent très bien, et un climat de confiance s’instaure entre eux. Alexandre Mellot, riche de son savoir-faire hérité de ses aïeux, transmet beaucoup à Laurent, parfait autodidacte. Jusqu’en 2000, Laurent veille sur les vignes et le chai du domaine Pierre Duret, entamant ainsi sa longue collaboration au sein de la Maison Joseph Mellot, qui s’agrandit avec la reprise du domaine Jean-Michel Sorbe en AOC Quincy et Reuilly.

Au début des années 2000, Alexandre propose à Laurent de le rejoindre à Sancerre. Très vite, Laurent se retrouve chef de culture de tous les vignobles de la Maison Joseph Mellot. Quand Alexandre disparaît prématurément en 2005, c’est tout naturellement que Laurent reste aux côtés de sa femme Catherine Corbeau-Mellot, qui lui succède.

« La vigne, c’est comme un enfant »

Parler de la vigne avec Laurent, c’est voir immédiatement se dessiner un franc sourire sur son visage ; il aime son métier, et tout autant partager son savoir-faire et sa passion. Il s’attache d’ailleurs à expliquer jour après jour à ses équipes ce qui motive ses choix et ses actions.

Pour lui, la vigne est comme un enfant : on la regarde grandir, on l’accompagne et on l’oriente, on prend soin d’elle, on la soigne lorsqu’elle est malade et on se réjouit de la voir évoluer dans le bon sens. Il n’est pas un homme d’excès, pour lui, tout l’art de la viticulture réside dans son observation attentive, l’interprétation de cette observation quotidienne, et l’intervention quand elle est nécessaire, en bonne proportion.

Laurent ne se lasse pas d’accompagner le cycle végétatif des vignes, et s’attache jour après jour à atteindre son objectif : faire entrer en cave à chaque vendange de beaux raisins qui donneront de bons vins ! Depuis plus de 20 ans qu’il œuvre pour la Maison Joseph, il veille sur le maintien de la biodiversité et conduit tous les vignobles en agriculture raisonnée, certifiée de Haute Valeur Environnementale en 2019.

5 questions à Laurent Goussard :

Votre saison préférée en Centre-Loire ?

Je les aime toutes, mais en y réfléchissant bien, c’est l’automne qui à ma faveur. Cette saison révèle des couleurs incroyables, qui évoluent au fil des jours et même des heures.

Votre lieu préféré en Centre-Loire ?

J’aime me promener autour du piton de Sancerre. Chaque pente offre des panoramas uniques, tous beaux, avec les vignes, la Loire, le relief et l’horizon… J’apprécie aussi le vignoble de Pouilly-Fumé, pour ses vues superbes sur le fleuve.

 

Votre cuvée préférée ?

Le Quincy Clos de la Victoire !

Votre accord met-vin préféré ?

Un Quincy avec un fromage de chèvre, mon « casse-croûte vigneron » préféré, mon pêché mignon.

Votre geste écoresponsable quotidien ?

Le respect de la nature : observation, interprétation, et juste intervention.

 

Livraison gratuite
à partir de 12 bouteilles

Tarifs dégressifs
à partir de 12 bouteilles

Paiement sécurisé
Par Carte bancaire