Appellation
Pouilly fumé
Joseph Mellot - Loire
History

The Pouilly-Fumé vineyards date back to Gallo-Roman times, along with the remains of the Roman road that passed through this village. From the 12th century onwards, the Augustin and Benedictine monks spearheaded the development of the vineyards. They increased vine cultivation to fuel the production of communion wine. In 1642, the opening of the Briare canal provided new stimulus to the wines of Pouilly Fumé. The waterborne routes gave access to Fontainebleau, Versailles, Paris, and even lands as distant as England, where the nobility and bourgeoisie were particularly partial to this beverage.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 14
Pouilly Fumé

Pouilly-Fumé was awarded Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC) status in 1937. The appellation, whose name is deeply evocative, has become known throughout the world. Located on hilly slopes rising above the banks of the Loire, a smokey-looking morning mist regularly envelops the vineyards of this appellation; hence the name Pouilly-Fumé.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 7
Terroirs

The appellation is spread over 7 communes (Garchy, Mesves sur Loire, Pouilly sur Loire, Saint Andelain, Saint Laurent l’Abbaye, Saint Martin sur Nohain and Tracy sur Loire) with several types of soil:

– The clayey-limestone soils of Villiers and Barrois are composed of sedimentary deposits and limestone pebbles of varying sizes and cover the eastern and western parts of the vineyard area.

– The Kimmeridgian marls are clayey-limestone soils containing small fossilized oyster shells. They cover most of the vineyard area.

– The flinty clays, which are found on the highest points of the appellation, bring constant quality to the wines.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 15
Climate

The vines are planted on slightly hilly terrain, which benefits from a continental climate. Temperatures vary between 0 and 8°C in winter and between 15 and 26°C in summer. This climate, favourable to the development of the Sauvignon Blanc grape, enables the production of crisp and elegant wines.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_5061
Le sauvignon

Pouilly-Fumé is a white wine made exclusively from Sauvignon Blanc grapes. The grapes mature earlier on limestone soils, producing crisp and lively wines with aromas of broom and grapefruit.
However, on marly soils, the vine is less sensitive to climatic variations. As a result, the Sauvignon grape provides white wines that can be left to age, their subtle aromas of flowers and fruits gaining added complexity.
For grapes grown on the soils composed of flint and clay, the white wines are delicate and supple with an attractive gunflint bouquet that is typical of the terroir.

Appellation
Pouilly fumé
Joseph Mellot - Loire
Histoire

Le vignoble de Pouilly Fumé remonterait à l’époque gallo- romaine, avec des vestiges de la voie romaine qui passait par ce village. A partir du 12ème siècle, les moines Augustins et Bénédictins sont à l’origine de l’essor de ce vignoble. Le vin de messe étant du vin blanc, ces moines ont développés la culture de la vigne. Puis en 1642, l’ouverture du canal de Briare va donner un nouvel élan aux vins de Pouilly Fumé puisque les voie maritime vont s’orienter vers Fontainebleau, Versailles, Paris, et même jusqu’en Angleterre, où la noblesse et bourgeoisie raffole de ce breuvage.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 14
Pouilly Fumé

Aujourd’hui le Pouilly Fumé est une Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée depuis 1937. C’est une appellation mondialement connue par son nom qui est très évocateur. Le vignoble étant situé en bord de Loire, une brume matinale semblable à la fumée embrasserait chaque matin les vignes de cette appellation.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 7
Les terroirs

L’appellation est répartie sur 7 communes avec plusieurs types de sols :

– Les sols argilo- calcaires de Villiers ou du barrois, sont constitués de dépôts sédimentaires et de cailloux de calcaires plus ou moins gros qui couvrent la partie est et ouest du vignoble.

– Les sols de marnes kimméridgiennes à petites huîtres, sont des sols argilo- calcaires qui contiennent les fossiles de petites huîtres en forme de virgule. Ils couvrent la plus grande partie du vignoble

– Les argiles à silex, qui occupent les points culminants de l’appellation, apporte une fidélité de qualité.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 15
Le climat

Les vignes sont plantées sur un relief légèrement vallonné, avec un climat à tendance continentale. Les températures varient entre 0 et 8°C l’hiver et entre 15 et 26°C l’été. Ce climat, propice à l’épanouissement du Sauvignon blanc permet de produire des vins tout en élégance et fraicheur.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_5061
Le sauvignon

Les Pouilly Fumé sont exclusivement des vins blancs issus de Sauvignon. Sur les sols calcaires, la maturation est plus précoce, les vins seront tout en fraicheur et vivacité, avec des arômes de genêt et de pamplemousse.
Cependant, sur les sols de marnes, la vigne est moins sensible aux variations de climat, le Sauvignon donnera alors des vins de garde aux arômes subtils de fleurs et de fruits.
Quant aux sols composés de silex et d’argile, les vins blancs seront tendres et souple avec un nez séduisant de pierre à fusil, typique de ce type de terroir.