Visitez notre boutique en ligne
24.06.2020

Domain life

Norbert Buchonnet

Cellar manager and oenologist for the house of Joseph Mellot since 2016

Nothing predestined Norbert Buchonnet to become the accomplished oenologist he is today.

Born in Aubagne in 1956, he left the school system at the age of 16, with his BEPC as his only diploma, with no specific plans. In autumn of 1977, he followed a few friends to Beaujolais for the harvest. This seasonal work proved to be a real discovery and opened the door for beautiful encounters. Curious about everything related to the vine and the soil, he returned to the school benches to obtain a BPA (brevet professionnel agricole) and then a BTA (brevet technique agricole).

Sauvignon, the subject of his dissertation

This did not quench his thirst for a better understanding and knowledge of the vine and wine. After a stay in Finland, he returned to France and obtained a BTS diploma in Blanquefort. He then had the choice between becoming an engineer or an oenologist. He was accepted into several oenology degrees, and chose Bordeaux, it was 1992. Two years later, he finished in the top 5 of his generation, and received the prize: prix de l’association des oenologues de Bordeaux, for his work in valorizing press wine from Sauvignon.

Norbert then had the great opportunity to do his internship alongside Denis Dubourdieu, whose laboratory had just discovered the molecule marker for Sauvignon:  an exhilarating experience full of teachings.

But becoming an oenologist at the age of 38 requires training through field experience. It is abroad that he gets his first interesting jobs, in Thailand, China and Morocco… After a quick return to France, he left for the south of Portugal, in a renowned family estate where he stayed for 6 years.  A striking milestone in his career, where he discovers other approaches for wines.

When he returns to France, he feels ready to take on a major challenge, and dreams of integrating a house where the word terroir is an identity. In 2016, he joined the house of Joseph Mellot, where Catherine Corbeau-Mellot was looking for a seasoned cellar manager who would be ready, when the time came, to hand over the keys of the cellar to her two sons, Adrien and Armand Mellot, currently still students.

He arrived in Sancerre, a prominent landmark of the Centre-Loire wine region, recognized all over the world for its varied terroirs that reveal the most sublime expression of Sauvignon. Through the harvest and winemaking, every day he still learns different facets of this star grape of Centre-Loire. He has become attached to this welcoming and authentic region, distant from modish and experimental viticultural practices, where tradition remains the course of action of today’s winemakers.

6 questions to Norbert Buchonnet, cellar manager at Joseph Mellot

Your first memory related to the vine?

My first harvest, in Beaujolais, at the end of the 70s. A real turning point for my professional career path.

What is your greatest tasting memory?

I have an intact memory of a Château Haut-Marbuzet, a Saint-Estèphe that provoked a very distinct sentiment in me and marked my memory for life.

I also love our Vignes du Rocher, which express the purity of Sauvignon from the flint terroirs of Sancerre.

Your favourite wine pairing?

When it is the season, I take pleasure in lightly cooked scallops, buttered or garnished with a yuzu sauce, accompanied by our white Sancerre La Châtellenie.

Your favourite scenery of the vineyards and the Loire?

I never tire of the different views of the Sancerre hill from the vineyards. At the top of Amigny, or at the top of the Palots, the gaze is dominated by the rocky peak and lets the majestic Loire meander…

Your favourite season?

I like the winter fogs, from where fires of vine branches rise here or there, I am always moved by the rows of vines that grow during the spring… but I have an unmovable affection for the autumn lights, phenomenal.

Your daily eco-responsible gesture?

Long before this became the rule, I sort out waste and always think recycling. Reuse what you can. It is automatic now.

Franco de port
à partir de 12 bouteilles

Tarifs dégressifs
à partir de 24 bouteilles

Paiement sécurisé
par carte bancaire

Visitez notre boutique en ligne
24.06.2020

La vie au domaine

Norbert Buchonnet

Chef de cave et œnologue de la maison Joseph Mellot depuis 2016

Rien ne prédestinait Norbert Buchonnet à devenir l’œnologue accompli qu’il est aujourd’hui.

Né à Aubagne en 1956, il quitte le système scolaire à 16 ans, avec pour seul diplôme en poche son BEPC, sans projet précis. A la faveur de l’automne 1977, il suit quelques amis jusqu’en Beaujolais pour les vendanges. Un travail saisonnier qui s’avère pour lui une véritable découverte et l’occasion de belles rencontres. Curieux de tout ce qui a trait à la vigne et au sol, il retourne sur les bancs de l’école pour décrocher un BPA (brevet professionnel agricole) puis un BTA (brevet technique agricole).

Le Sauvignon, sujet de son mémoire de fin d’étude

Cela n’assouvit pas sa soif de mieux comprendre et connaître la vigne et le vin. Après un séjour en Finlande, il rentre en France pour décrocher un BTS à Blanquefort. Il a alors le choix entre devenir ingénieur ou œnologue. Il est accepté dans plusieurs formations d’œnologie, et choisit Bordeaux qu’il intègre en 1992. Deux ans plus tard, il termine dans les 5 premiers de la promotion, et reçoit le prix de l’association des œnologues de Bordeaux pour son travail sur la valorisation des vins de presse de Sauvignon.

Norbert a alors l’opportunité formidable d’effectuer son stage aux côtés de Denis Dubourdieu, dont le laboratoire vient de découvrir la molécule marqueur du Sauvignon : une expérience exaltante pleine d’enseignements.

Mais devenir œnologue à 38 ans nécessite un passage par des expériences de terrain formatrices. C’est à l’étranger qu’il obtiendra ses premiers postes intéressants, en Thaïlande, en Chine et au Maroc… Après un rapide retour en France, il repart pour le sud du Portugal, dans une propriété familiale de renom où il restera 6 ans. Une étape marquante de son parcours, où il découvre d’autres approches du travail des vins.

Quand il rentre en France, il se sent prêt à relever un défi de taille, et rêve d’intégrer une maison où le mot terroir est une identité. En 2016, il rejoint la maison Joseph Mellot, où Catherine Corbeau-Mellot cherche alors un chef de cave aguerri qui saura, l’heure venue, remettre les clés de la cave à ses deux fils, Adrien et Armand Mellot, actuellement encore étudiants.

Il arrive à Sancerre, haut lieu de la région viticole du Centre-Loire, reconnue dans le monde entier pour ses terroirs variés qui subliment le Sauvignon. Au fil des vendanges et des vinifications, il apprend encore aujourd’hui chaque jour les différentes facettes de ce cépage roi du Centre-Loire. Il s’est attaché à cette région accueillante et authentique, préservée des mouvements « modeux » et expérimentaux de la viticulture, où la tradition demeure la ligne de conduite des vignerons d’aujourd’hui.

6 questions à Norbert Buchonnet, chef de cave œnologue de la maison Joseph Mellot

Votre premier souvenir lié à la vigne ?

Mes premières vendanges, en Beaujolais, à la fin des années 70, véritable déclencheur de mon chemin professionnel.

Quel est votre plus grand souvenir de dégustation ?

J’ai un souvenir intact d’un Château Haut-Marbuzet, un Saint-Estèphe qui a provoqué chez moi une émotion toute particulière, et a marqué ma mémoire pour la vie.

J’aime aussi beaucoup nos Vignes du Rocher, qui expriment la pureté du Sauvignon sur les terroirs sancerrois de Silex.

Votre pêché mignon accord mets-vins ?

Quand c’est la saison, je me régale de noix de Saint-Jacques juste snackées, au beurre ou agrémentées d’une sauce au yuzu, escortées de notre Sancerre blanc La Châtellenie.

Votre panorama préféré sur les vignes et la Loire ?

Je ne me lasse pas des vues différentes sur la colline de Sancerre depuis les vignobles. En haut d’Amigny, ou en haut des Palots, le regard domine le piton rocheux et laisse serpenter la Loire majestueuse…

Votre saison préférée ?

J’aime les brouillards hivernaux, d’où s’élèvent ici ou là les feux de sarments, je suis toujours ému par les rangées de vignes qui s’étoffent au fil du printemps… mais j’ai une tendresse indétrônable pour les lumières d’automne, phénoménales.

Votre geste éco-responsable quotidien ?

Bien avant que cela devienne la règle, je m’efforce de trier mes déchets, de penser recyclage en tout. Réutiliser ce qui peut l’être, comme une évidence.

Franco de port
à partir de 12 bouteilles

Tarifs dégressifs
à partir de 24 bouteilles

Paiement sécurisé
par carte bancaire