Appellation
Sancerre
Joseph Mellot - D8C_0204 HD
History

The history of the Sancerre vineyards dates back to classical antiquity and is mentioned in the writings of historical figures such as Pliny the Elder. Yet it was only in the 12th century that the vineyards experienced considerable growth, due to the monks of Saint-Satur and the Counts of Sancerre. Mainly planted with the Pinot Noir grape variety, the vineyards were completely destroyed at the end of the 19th century when they were ravaged by phylloxera (a parasitic aphid that attacks the roots of the vine). This is how Sauvignon Blanc, specifically adapted to the climate of Sancerre, came to find its preferred setting and its favourite terroir today.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_0287
Bid for UNESCO

The vineyards of Sancerre are currently the subject of a bid for UNESCO World Heritage status. This project which is ongoing, unites the whole territory and is pushing local stakeholders to highlight and promote Sancerre’s assets.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 6
Amazing Terroirs

The appellation is spread across 14 communes (Bannay, Bué, Crézancy, Menetou-Ratel, Montigny, Saint-Satur, Sainte-Gemme, Sancerre, Sury en Vaux, Thauvenay, Veaugues, Verdigny and Vinon) and 3 hamlets (Amigny, Chavignol and Maimbray) surrounding the Sancerre hill. Three distinctly different soil profiles are to be found:

-To the west of the appellation area, clay and limestone Kimmeridgian marls form the “terres blanches” (“white soils”) that lend a wonderful roundness to the wine.

-In the centre of the appellation area, the stony “caillottes” slopes are predominantly limestone, bringing a powerful minerality to the wine.

-To the east of the appellation area, the more flinty soils add a minerally taste of gunflint.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_0219
Appropriate climate

The vineyards of Sancerre are planted on hillsides that are well-oriented, superbly exposed to sunshine and yet protected from the wind.

The climate in Sancerre is oceanic, with average temperatures of 2 to 6°C in winter and 22 to 25°C in summer. This climate, with its distinct seasons, produces wines in which the most perfect harmony reigns: fresh, delicious, and rich in aroma.

Joseph Mellot - SAUVIGNON (4)
Sauvignon blanc

Sauvignon Blanc, the appellation’s emblematic grape variety, has found its preferred terroir here, producing the iconic white wines of Sancerre, a name synonymous with excellence. The Sauvignon Blanc grape produces fresh, subtle, crisp, aromatic and expressive wines with aromas of citrus and tropical fruits, revealing a wonderful minerality that is the expression of the Sancerre terroir.

 

Joseph Mellot - MP7C7392
Pinot noir

The Pinot Noir grape variety is used to make the red and rosé wines of the appellation. The red Sancerres highlight the qualities of the Pinot Noir grape, expressing elegance, finesse and balance, accompanied by a superb complexity and delicate harmony, with notes of red and black fruits on the palate. It is a sensual and charming grape variety. The rosé wines are crisp and succulent, generous and refreshing, with floral notes and hints of red fruit. These wines are a delight to all lovers of gastronomy.

Appellation
Sancerre
Joseph Mellot - D8C_0204 HD
une Histoire forte

Le vignoble de Sancerre remonterait dans la plus lointaine Antiquité, selon des témoignages de personnalités historiques telles que Pline l’Ancien. Ce n’est qu’au 12ème siècle que Sancerre connaît un essor considérable grâce aux moines de Saint-Satur et aux Comtes de Sancerre. Anciennement planté essentiellement en Pinot noir, le vignoble a été complètement détruit à la fin du 19ème siècle à cause du phylloxéra (puceron parasite qui s’attaque aux racines de la vigne). C’est ainsi que le Sauvignon blanc, spécifiquement bien adapté aujourd’hui au climat Sancerrois a trouvé son écrin, son terroir de prédilection.

 

Joseph Mellot - D8C_0287
Une candidature à l'Unesco

Aujourd’hui, la valorisation de l’identité du vignoble Sancerrois passe par une candidature à l’Unesco. Le projet toujours en cours, fédère tout le territoire et pousse les acteurs locaux à mettre en avant ses atouts.

Joseph Mellot - Pouilly Fumé 6
Des Terroirs inégalés...

L’appellation se répartit sur 14 communes (Bannay, Bué, Crézancy, Menetou- Ratel, Montigny, Saint- Satur, Sainte- Gemme, Sancerre, Sury en Vaux, Thauvenay, Veaugues, Verdigny et VInon) et 3 hameaux (Amigny, Chavignol et Maimbray) autour du Piton Sancerrois. Il existe trois types de sols qui composent ce terroir unique :

  • A l’ouest, les Terres Blanches, royaume des marnes argilo-calcaires du Kimméridgien, qui confèrent aux vins une superbe ampleur.
  • Au centre, des collines très pierreuses de Caillottes à dominante calcaire, apportant aux vins une puissante minéralité.
  • A l’est, les Terres de Silex apportent leur touche minérale de pierre à fusil.

 

Joseph Mellot - D8C_0219
et un climat approprié

Le vignoble de Sancerre est planté sur des collines et des coteaux aussi bien orientés, qu’exposés et protégés. Le climat Sancerrois est de type océanique, avec des températures moyennes de 2 à 6°C l’hiver et de 22 à 25°C pendant l’été. Ce climat aux saisons bien marquées permet de produire des vins dans lesquels règne l’harmonie la plus parfaite entre les éléments : gourmandise, fraîcheur et arômes.

Joseph Mellot - SAUVIGNON (4)
Sauvignon blanc

Cépage emblématique de l’appellation, le Sauvignon blanc a trouvé son terroir favori pour élaborer les fameux vins blancs de Sancerre, symbole d’excellence. Cela donne des vins frais, subtils, aromatiques, expressifs et présents, aux arômes d’agrumes et de fruits exotiques, où se mêle une belle minéralité, expression du terroir de Sancerre.

 

Joseph Mellot - MP7C7392
Pinot noir

Le second cépage, le Pinot noir, permet de vinifier les rouges et rosés de l’appellation. Les Sancerres rouges mettent en lumière les qualités du Pinot noir, avec élégance, finesse et équilibre, accompagnés d’une belle complexité et d’harmonie, offrant de délicats arômes de fruits rouges et noires en bouche. C’est un cépage sensuel et charmeur. Quant aux rosés, ils sont frais et gourmands, généreux et désaltérant, aux notes florales et de fruits rouges frais. Ce sont des vins vifs, plaisants et de gastronomie.