Appellation
Reuilly
Joseph Mellot - JEAN-MICHEL SORBE
History

It is said that in the 7th century, King Dagobert donated his fields, vineyards and meadows in the Reuilly appellation to the monks of the Abbaye Royale Saint Denis. With this gift, the wines of the appellation quenched the thirst of the lords of Bourges and Vierzon, and were even transported to England and Flanders via the waters of the Loire. The wines of Reuilly were also cited at the court of Catherine de Médicis, as “the best in the Berry” (Berry being the ancient name of the province). However at the end of the 19th century, phylloxera (an aphid parasite of the vine) decimated almost all of the Reuilly vines. The vineyards were then replanted by passionate winegrowers convinced of the potential of these wines and terroirs. This work was rewarded in 1937 when Reuilly gained Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC) status for its white wines and in 1961 for its red and rosé wines.

Joseph Mellot - actualite1
Terroirs and climate

The Reuilly vineyard is distributed over two French administrative departments, Indre and Cher. The vines are planted on gently sloping hillsides where they thrive on marl and limestone soils, surmounted by high sandy-gravelly terraces over which the sun’s rays flow. These complementary terroirs, the different expositions and varied topography ensure considerable aromatic diversity in the wines which attain a beautiful maturity.

The climatic conditions for the development of the vine are almost ideal, with a temperate climate due to oceanic influence. The winters are cool with average temperatures of 3°C, while the summers are mild and salutary for the vines.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_4991
Grape varieties

The Sauvignon Blanc grape is used to make the white wines of Reuilly, which express floral and fruity aromas with citrus and tropical fruit notes. Full and fresh on the palate, they have an intense aromatic finish. The red wines, which are produced using the Pinot Noir grape, express all the intensity of this grape variety, with notes of red and black fruit and a touch of spice, becoming full and silky on the finish. The rosé wines of the appellation are of great delicacy, revealing aromas of roses and white peaches. They draw their originality from the grape variety used to produce them: the Pinot Gris.

Carriage free for orders
of 12 bottles or more

Volume discounts
starting from 24 bottles

Secure payment
by credit card

0
    Panier
    Votre panier est videRetour à la boutique
      Calculate Shipping

      Retrouvez-nous  à  la Boutique La Vigne et Le Vin

       tous les jours de 10h à 12h et de 13h30 à 18h30 (fermé le lundi matin).

      Vous pouvez aussi retrouver nos vins en venant à notre chai, ouvert  du lundi au vendredi de 8h15 à 12h et de 13h30 à 17h.

      Profitez de nos visites de vignes et de notre cave historique,  pour connaître tous les secrets de la Maison Joseph Mellot !

      Informations au 02 48 54 00 90.

Appellation
Reuilly
Joseph Mellot - JEAN-MICHEL SORBE
Histoire

Dès le 7ème siècle, on raconte que le Roi Dagobert aurait offert ses champs, vignes et prairies sur l’appellation Reuilly aux moines de l’Abbaye Royale Saint Denis. Avec ce don, les vins de l’appellation désaltéraient les seigneurs de Bourges et Vierzon, et étaient même acheminées vers l’Angleterre et les Flandres par les eaux de la Loire. Les vins de l’appellation ont aussi été cités à la cour de Catherine de Médicis, comme étant « les meilleurs du pays du Berry ». Cependant à la fin du 19ème siècle, le phylloxéra (puceron parasite de la vigne) décimera la quasi-totalité des vignes de Reuilly. Le vignoble sera par la suite reconstitué par des vignerons passionnés et convaincus du potentiel de ces vins et de ces terroirs. Ce travail fut gratifié par l’obtention de l’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée en 1937 pour les vins blancs et en 1961 pour ses vins rouges et rosés.

Joseph Mellot - actualite1
Terroirs et climat

Le vignoble de Reuilly se distribue sur deux départements, l’Indre et le Cher. Les vignes sont plantées sur des coteaux doucement pentus où le vignoble jubile sur des sols de marnes calcaires, surplombés par des terrasses de graves et de sables où se jettent les rayons du soleil. Ces terroirs complémentaires  et ces différentes expositions et reliefs assurent une diversité aromatique dans les vins et une belle maturité.

Les conditions climatiques pour l’épanouissement de la vigne sont quasi idéales, avec un climat tempéré d’influence océanique. Les hivers sont frais avec des températures moyennes de 3°C, et les étés sont doux et salvateurs pour la vigne.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_4991
Cépages

Les vins blancs de Reuilly proviennent de la vinification du Sauvignon blanc, qui exprime des arômes floraux et fruités avec des notes d’agrumes et de fruits tropicaux. La bouche est ample, fraiche, avec une finale aromatique intense. Quant aux rouges, qui sont créés à partir du Pinot noir, ils expriment toute l’intensité de ce cépage par des arômes de fruits rouges et noirs, légèrement épicés, à la bouche ample et soyeuse. Les vins rosés de l’appellation, d’une grande délicatesse, aux notes de roses et de pêches blanches, tirent leur originalité de leur cépage : le Pinot gris.