Appellation
Pouilly sur Loire
Joseph Mellot - Loire
History

The history of the Pouilly-sur-Loire vineyards is inseparable from that of the Pouilly-Fumé appellation. These vineyards also date back to the 5th century, during the Gallo-Roman period. It wasn’t until the 12th century that the appellation increased in size, largely due to the monks who cultivated the vines to produce communion wine. Chasselas, the signature grape variety of this appellation, made the reputation and fortune of the Pouilly winegrowers by producing table grapes to supply the famous ‘Halles’ in Paris. This came to an end in the 19th century when phylloxera (aphid parasite of the vine) devastated the vineyards. It was only at the beginning of the 20th century that a few hectares of Chasselas were replanted in memory of this glorious period.

Joseph Mellot - POUILLY LAURENT
Terroirs

This appellation has the same terroir as the Pouilly-Fumé vineyard as it is demarcated by the same boundaries. Formed more than 400 million years ago by the Jurassic seas, the Pouilly terroir has been successively eroded and built up by the river. This has had the effect of multiplying its range of expressions and aromas. The Chasselas grape is particularly well-suited to this terroir, which is composed of clayey-siliceous soils, Kimmeridgian marls and clayey-limestone soils.
 

Joseph Mellot - pouilly 1
Climate

The climate is the same as that of the Pouilly-Fumé appellation with well-defined seasons, cool winters with an average temperature of 4°C and moderately hot summers with an average temperature of 23°C.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_5061
Le Chasselas

The Chasselas grape, far from its Swiss homeland, finds an ideal location in Pouilly-sur-Loire. Producing very aromatic white wines with fruity, floral, almond and hazelnut notes, the wines from this grape should be enjoyed young. The palate is crisp, fresh and well balanced, leading to a lively citrus finish.

Discover our wines

Appellation
Pouilly sur Loire
Joseph Mellot - Loire
une Histoire qui remonte au 12éme siécle...

L’histoire du vignoble de Pouilly-sur-Loire est en  relation avec celle de l’appellation Pouilly-Fumé. C’est au 12ème siècle, que cette appellation connu un essor considérable grâce aux moines qui développent la culture de la vigne pour le vin de messe. Le Chasselas, cépage emblématique de cette appellation, fit la réputation et la fortune des vignerons de Pouilly par la production de raisins de table pour approvisionner les fameuses Halles de Paris jusqu’au 19ème siècle, où le phylloxéra (puceron parasite de la vigne) dévastera les vignobles français. Ce n’est qu’au début du 20ème siècle que quelques hectares de Chasselas furent replantés en mémoire de cette période glorieuse.

Joseph Mellot - POUILLY LAURENT
Un terroir identitaire

Cette appellation a le même terroir que le vignoble de Pouilly-Fumé, car délimitée par les mêmes frontières. Façonné il y  a plus de 400 millions d’années par les mers jurassiques, le terroir de Pouilly a été érodé, creusé et remblayé par le fleuve pour en multiplier la palette d’expressions et d’arômes. On retrouvera alors des argiles à silex, des marnes kimméridgiennes ou des sols argilo- calcaires, où le Chasselas a une préférence pour son épanouissement.

 

Joseph Mellot - pouilly 1
Des saisons marqués

Le climat est, quant à lui, similaire à celui de l’appellation Pouilly-Fumé avec des saisons bien marquées, des hivers frais avec une moyenne de 4°C et des étés moyennement chaud, d’une moyenne de 23°C.

Joseph Mellot - D8C_5061
Le Chasselas

Le Chasselas, loin de ses terres originelles helvétiques, trouve à Pouilly une implantation idéale. A savourer jeune, il donne des vins blancs très aromatiques aux notes fruitées, florales, d’amandes et de noisettes. La bouche est fraîche bien équilibrée avec une finale sur les agrumes tout en vivacité.

Découvrez les vins du Pouilly sur Loire