Appellation
Chateaumeillant
Joseph Mellot - chateaumeillant 01
History

The archaeological discovery of a large number of amphorae destined for the Mediterranean wine trade provides evidence that the Chateaumeillant vineyards predate the 5th century. Medieval charters and the writings of Grégoire de Tours also mention the vineyard, its regulations and the marketing of its wines in the 13th century. But it was in the French Second Empire that the vineyard reached its peak, covering an area of 1,200 hectares. It was subsequently devastated by the phylloxera crisis in the 19th century. Today Chateaumeillant is reputed for its famous “gris” (grey) wine, vinified from the Gamay grape variety. The appellation obtained AOC status in 2010.

Joseph Mellot - chateameillant 04
Terroirs and climate

The Chateaumeillant vineyards are spread across two administrative departments (Cher and Indre) and 7 communes (Chateaumeillant, Saint-Maur, Vesdun, Champillet, Feusilles, Nére and Urciers) at an altitude of 250 metres above sea level. The vines are planted on a terroir with very distinct characteristics, composed of siliceous soils that are mainly sandy and clayey.

Although the vineyard is located in the foothills of the Massif Central, the climate remains oceanic and temperate, benefiting from relatively mild temperatures in winter.

Joseph Mellot - chateaumeillant 02
Grape varieties

Made from a blend of Pinot Noir and Gamay grapes, the irresistible red wines are supple and fruity, with aromas of ripe red fruits, a hint of spice, and a beautiful structure. The “grey” rosés, also made from Pinot Noir and Gamay grapes, are crisp and fresh on the palate with white fruit aromas that melt away into a subtle, sweet and generous finish.

Appellation
Chateaumeillant
Joseph Mellot - chateaumeillant 01
Histoire

La découverte archéologique d’un grand nombre d’amphores destinées au commerce du vins en méditerranée montre que l’histoire du vignoble de Chateaumeillant est antérieure au 5ème siècle.  Des chartes médiévales et les écrits de Grégoire de Tours mentionnent aussi le vignoble pour sa réglementation et la commercialisation de ses vins au 13ème siècle. Mais c’est au Second Empire, que le vignoble atteint son apogée avec une surface de 1 200 hectares, avant qu’il ne soit dévasté par la crise phylloxérique (puceron ravageur de la vigne). Aujourd’hui Chateaumeillant est réputé pour son fameux vin « gris », vinifié à partir du cépage Gamay, et obtiendra l’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée en 2010.

Joseph Mellot - chateameillant 04
Terroirs et climat

Le vignoble de Chateaumeillant se répartit sur deux départements (Cher et Indre) et 7 communes (Chateaumeillant, Saint-Maur, vesdun, Champillet, Feusilles, Nére et Urciers) avec une altitude de 250 mètres. Les vignes sont plantées sur un terroir très typé composé de terres siliceuses à dominante sableuse et argileuse.

Bien que le vignoble soit situé sur les contreforts du Massif Central, le climat reste de type océanique et tempéré. Ainsi, il bénéficie de températures relativement douces en hiver.

Joseph Mellot - chateaumeillant 02
Cépages

Les vins rouges, souples et fruits, sont élaborés à partir de Pinot noir et de Gamay, aux arômes de fruits rouges murs et d’épices, avec une belle structure et de la gourmandise. Quant aux rosés, dits « gris », issus aussi de Pinot noir et Gamay, ils présentent une belle fraicheur aux arômes de fruits blancs qui se fondent en notes subtilement sucrées, et tout en générosité.